Director of the Institute
Prof. Dr. Carsten Bolm
Tel.: +49 (0)241 8094675

  Head of Teaching / Academic Co-ordinator
Dr. Michael Meske
Tel.: +49 (0)241 8094694

  Head of the Administration
Dr. Gunter Geibel
Tel.: +49 (0)241 8094685





  November 2019
  We are pleased to announce that both Dr. Chris Teskey and Dr. José Hernández received an „MSE Researcher Award 2019“ by the RWTH profile area „Molecular Science & Engineering“. Congratulations!
  September 2019
  The Schoenebeck group reports a straightforward access to N-trifluoromethyl amides, carbamates, thiocarbamates and ureas in Nature (Nature 2019, 573, 102).  For press coverage, see: Nature's "News & Views" (Nature 2019, 573, 37) and C&En News (Vol 97, Issue 35).
  July 2019
  Congratulations to Thomas Scattolin from the Schoenebeck group who is one of the 45 finalists for the 2019 Reaxys PhD Prize. More than 360 applications were received from chemistry researchers from all over the world. Thomas was selected for his work "Efficient Synthesis of Trifluoromethyl Amines through a Formal Umpolung Strategy from the Bench-Stable Precursor (Me4N)SCF3" which was published in Angewandte Chemie.
  May 2019
  We are pleased to welcome Dr. Chris Teskey at our institute. We wish him all the best in building his research group and program.
  April 2019
  We are pleased to welcome Prof. John A. Murphy from the University of Strathclyde, UK who is visiting our institute as a Humboldt research award winner.
  February 2019
  The Schoenebeck group reports "E-Olefins through intramolecular radical relocation" in Science. (
  Prof. Schoenebeck has been appointed as Editor at the Thieme journal Synthesis
  January 2019
  Also this year the "New Year Symposium" (number 11 in the series under the sponsorship of Bayer AG) was a great success. More than 100 participants (see picture ) attended the meeting on January 11 in the IOC lecture hall. The main speakers were Prof. Dr. John Gladysz (Texas A&M), Prof. Dr. Stefan Huber (Ruhr-University Bochum), Dr. Thomas Müller (Bayer AG), and Prof. Dr. Louis Fensterbank (Sorbonne Université). In addition, 9 doctoral students from RWTH Aachen University gave short talks, and about 30 posters were exhibited. Particular thanks go to the 2019 organizing committee: Christian Schumacher, Hannah Fergen, Jannik Borghs, and Steven Terhorst.
  February 2017
  The 2017 Bredt Lecture took place in the Institute of Organic Chemistry. We congratulate this year's recipient - Prof. Paul Knochel from the LMU.  The previous Bredt lecture awardees were Prof. Peter Vollhardt (2008), Prof. Ryoji Noyori (2010), Prof. K. C. Nicolaou (2012), Prof. Steve Ley (2014). We are grateful to Grünenthal GmbH for generous sponsorship of the event.



Dieter Enders, 1946 – 2019

We are very sad to inform you that our colleague, outstanding scientist and dear friend, Professor Dieter Enders passed away on Saturday, 29th June. Prof. Enders was a giant in the field of chemistry and made an equally deep impact at the RWTH Aachen University, where he had been Professor since 1985.


Institute of Organic Chemistry

General Information
Research Groups
Department of Chemistry






RWTH Aachen University
Institute of Organic Chemistry
Landoltweg 1
52074 Aachen

Tel.: +49 (0)241 80 94 711
Fax: +49 (0)241 80 92 835